Resurrection Excitement!

caravaggio_incredulity-500px.jpg

Having grieved the Passion of Christ (two posts ago), his sufferings, and then having identified with the death of Christ (last post), this Resurrection Day seems brilliantly exciting. Death isn’t the end of life. Jesus provided the ultimate demonstration that He is indeed God. History is truly “His story.” And now, I am part of that story because I participate in “the Gospel.” Our Sunday School teacher recently reminded us that the Gospel is essentially that Christ died, He was buried, He was raised on the third day, and that He appeared to witnesses (I Corinthians 15:3-8). He went on to observe that Christ’s burial was proof that He had died and that His appearance was proof that He had risen from the dead. I’m imagining how stunning it must have been to see Jesus first hand in His resurrection body. Caravaggio comes through again with his depiction of Jesus giving evidence of His authenticity in The Incredulity of Saint Thomas (circa 1602). It makes me wonder what I would have done if I had been in that room of apostles. I think I would not have been as doubting as “Doubting Thomas” but I do not think I would have been as courageous as Thomas. His verbal response, though, would be my response, “My Lord and my God!” I am deeply encouraged by the words of Jesus to both Thomas and me, “Because you have seen me, have you believed? Blessed are they who did not see, and yet believed.” (John 20:29) What transforming power results from simply believing and surrendering to Him, thus “having life in His name.”

Leave a Reply

