Vacation 3-R’s

2006-06-waldies-living-room.jpg

I’m back from vacation! Perhaps the yearning for rest is a sign of age, but I like to think of it as a growing sensibility about self-care. Our hosts in Santa Fe, Walter and Ann Waldie, allowed us to experience a different kind of “3-R’s”: Relaxation, Refreshment and Restoration. They called their house “Casa Refugio de Dios” (House of God’s Refuge). Their graciousness was a ministry to me in that I had never had an extended relaxing vacation like this one. I recognized the importance of having a refuge. And what a bonding experience for our marriage! Our son took a few pictures, but they can’t capture the full aura of sounds (of silence), smells, dry air, and peripheral vision. But the simple memory makes me go “ahhhh.” Maybe that’s why it took the better part of a week for me to get reoriented to work!

Leave a Reply

