Amazing Grace Helps Us See

wilberforce.jpgMy wife and I just got back from watching Amazing Grace. I first heard about William Wilberforce 30 years ago when Dr. John Hannah, my Church History professor mentioned that this man spearheaded the abolition of slavery in the British Empire without any blood being shed, while we in the USA are still trying to clean up the mess we made of it. Historically, much of the resistance to abolition was economic. “If we abolish slavery, our sugar plantations will not survive.” This early concern amazing-grace-branded.jpgmakes me want to study how England did adjust economically during the 1800’s. Economic “necessity” will always be a poor excuse to purpetuate inhumane treatment of people.

I had not realized that John Newton was “Wilber’s” pastor. What a moving part Finney played. Anyone who watches this movie thoughtfully must leave with the personal question, “What am I devoting my life to?” I’m not sure that all of us have to be crusaders for a cause, but I think we do need to stand strong for godly principles. Unfortunately, our culture today is so caught up with “tolerance” and “politically correctness” that we don’t stand for much of anything. If you don’t stand for something, you’ll fall for anything! The movie makes me clarify my stance on lots of social issues. I’d be interested in your reactions to the movie.

2 Responses to Amazing Grace Helps Us See

  1. suresh says:

    Amazing. About 8 years ago, I watched a movie on television. I was amazed and was touched in heart. I watched it in the middle and i could not know what movie it was. But now the very moment i saw those two pics you posted, i surely know this is that film. Now i am more surprised to know that this is related to my faith. thank you for the post. I am planning to watch this carefully again.

    • leejagers says:

      Thanks for your encouraging comment. I visited your blog and like it. I tried to leave a comment on your Good Samaritan post, but could not log on. But Dr. Haddon Robinson (president of Gordon-Conwell Seminary in Boston) spoke on the Good Samaritan in our (Dallas Theological Seminary) chapel last week. Referencing the different reactions of the three passers-by, he explained “The person we are determines what we see; what we see determines what we do.” I will remember this for a long time.

      Dr. Lee Jagers Director of Counseling Services Dallas Theological Seminary 3909 Swiss Avenue Dallas, Texas 75204 214-382-3902 e-mail: ljagers@dts.edu Blog: http://www.leejagers.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

