I’m Not Perfect, but I’ve Been Made Righteous!

passion-of-christ.jpg

This evening, I gave a midweek Lenten message at Grace Episcopal Church.  It was a relatively small group, about 15 in number, but  very big in grace and the power of the Spirit.   I felt good about what I said, but more importantly, I came away with an overwhelming sense of  encouragement at how ordinary people can come together and create an extraordinary experience while focusing on something as off-beat culturally as  our need for the salvation.

One of the things that strikes me about the cross this year is the incredible exchange that took place.  Jesus took our place so that we could take His place. He traded places with us.  For example, Jesus took our sins and he gave us His righteousness.  People that don’t see the need for the blood don’t see either the holiness of God nor the sinfulness of humanity.

This evening, I tried to clarify the important aspects of the cross that often elude our thinking.  I essentially elaborated on a summary statement from Dr. Bob Pyne‘s Soteriology notes:

Without the sinfulness of humanity, the atonement would not have been necessary.  Without the incarnation, the atonement would not have been possible.  Without the holiness of God, the atonement would not have been called for.  Without the love of God, the atonement would not have taken place.

This perspective brought tears of appreciation from somewhere down deep during the celebration of communion.  The idea of Someone so good making such an enormous sacrifice on my behalf is a bit overwhelming.

2 Responses to I’m Not Perfect, but I’ve Been Made Righteous!

  1. A-MEN! (Like a southern-baptist preacher) Great stuff Dr. J! I always appreciate re-visiting the insurmountable giving that was taking place through the story of Christ’s atonement for our sickness, thus bringing our healing. I guess I should take Dr. Pyne for Soteriology then huh? 😀 Tell me when you’re speaking somewhere again, and I’ll try to be there!

  2. Lee Jagers says:

    I think there is no better place to park and meditate than at the foot of the Cross. Thanks for leaving your kind words after your visit. — JLJ

Leave a Reply

