Peru Earthquake with Heartful Connections

valentin-rosa.jpgTragedy seems to strike home with more force when you know someone who is directly involved. A week and a half ago, I was in Lima with a team from RREACH and met a wonderful couple. We were there to train pastors how to preach expository sermons from the Bible. Valentin, a Romanian pastor who married a lovely Peruvian lady, Rosa, helped coordinate our conference. Rosa helped me pick out jewelry for my wife and daughters. Because I met Valentin and Rosa as well as many other Peruvians, I can’t just react with curiosity about an earthquake. Instead I want to know, “How is Daniel? . . . and Julio? . . . and Santiago? Perhaps if I were more spiritual, I could feel this concerned about all the people who are suffering there, even the ones I haven’t met.

Valentin and Rosa wrote back to our coordinator with the following message

. . . yes like u know in Lima was happen a very strong earthquake (7.9 ). I was alone at the 3 floor alone and for 2 minuts i was ready to jump if the house go down. Rosa and her mother run out. I am so sure that God protect Peru because in 1970 here alot of people died and alot of buildings fall down. In Romania in 1977 a earthquake (7.2) kill many thousand people. Now in Peru , at this hour are 48 dead people and 350 people on the hospitals. God protect Peru and us. Thank u for be in touch with us. Rosa and Valentin

The small earthquake we experienced there a couple of weeks ago was only 3.1 on the Richter Scale. I slept through it. This one is major. Here’s a picture of what it was like in Ica.

This is part of my prayer this morning: “God protect Peru”

2 Responses to Peru Earthquake with Heartful Connections

  1. Mike says:

    It’s a very sad thing. The death toll has risen quite a lot since the first reports (at least 450 now). Here’s something I read today:

    “Pisco’s mayor said at least 200 people were buried in the rubble of a church where they had been attending a service.”
    http://www.boston.com/news/world/latinamerica/articles/2007/08/16/strong_quake_kills_at_least_17_in_peru/

    Doesn’t sound like God was protecting Peru all that much. Maybe as a student of theology you can help me understand why God would allow that to happen.

  2. leejagers says:

    Hi Mike,
    Thanks for your visit to my blog and for your thoughtful comment which strikes at a chord of agitation with all of us. In terms of natural disasters, I would certainly like God to protect the innocent from any pain or harm or loss. I’d also like God to pour out his blessings on the good and righteous people of the world. In terms of evil, I would certainly like to see God punish wickedness quickly and decisively. But when I reflect on the broader scope of things (like time) I realize that I’m describing what heaven will be like. I want that now. Maybe that’s why the Lord Jesus asked us to pray “Thy kingdom come . . . on earth as it is in heaven.” But the reality is that we live in a fallen world, fallen from God’s original design. I believe the narrative of Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden is a true historical event and is the reason we as humans are so screwed up and that the world around us is not more kind to us. Everything fell. So I tend to look to Adam (and to my own sin nature) as reasons why bad things happen and I tend to look to God as the One who is constantly and persistently offering deliverance from our fallen state through Jesus Christ. Let’s both continue to ponder these things. Looking forward to more visits from you.
    — Lee

Leave a Reply

